Wonderful Wildlife

Singing in the snow: capercailzie.

1073765_1000

A photograph by Valeriy Maleev, perhaps the best contemporary Russian wildlife photographer. It is a very rare shot, because capercailzie don’t usually do their spring mating song when the weather is that bad.

Valeriy started out as a hunter, a trophy hunter even, before he put down the guns and took the camera, and it might have nothing to do with the images he takes – his blog deserves a visit from anyone who enjoys pictures of wildlife – but there’s one thing that I can’t get out of my mind: all hunters turned photographers claim that you can no longer kill the species you take pictures of. There’s something very significant in this that I can’t put my finger on.

Standard

One thought on “Singing in the snow: capercailzie.

  1. R.D. Show (Schousse) says:

    This is true,I do not hunt big game any more. For the last four or five years I have gone out with the Dogs and hunted a little but never loaded the gun. I waited all year to hunt Whitetail, now I just go for a couple of hours each year never shoot. I have a Vivitar camera with a telephoto lense and find myself clicking away with the camera. I now feed deer in my front yard and have at times as many as 25 in one bunch. Get great enjoyment watching them all night. I have learned more in the last couple years watching them than in 55 yrs of hunting them. They become trusting in a very short time,something that probably contributes to there down fall. I do miss my Grouse hunting but can not climb the hills anymore. But I can still dream.R.D.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

